ECCU 400 – Blog 11

This week we had the reconciliation event in our classroom. Unfortunately, I had to leave early due to my bus but I was still there from 7 to 10. I spoke about a Residential School survivor named Jane Linklater who suffered from abuse and depression. Others spoke about other survivors that they chose, and did creative projects. I think the main thing I learned during the Reconciliation Event was healing, and how many of these survivors are focusing on healing themselves and their families. Many recognize that this has affected their families and they are doing their best to fix that. The females who had children said that their past has affected their parenting but they do love their children and want what is best for them. The biggest lesson that I learned from this is also included in my quotes from my creative project. This lesson is healing and forgiveness, which is a huge step in Reconciliation.

Leave a comment